5 Ways to Get on Your Recruiter’s Bad Side

Daphne Blake
4 min readJun 14, 2022
  1. Ask to Schedule Your Interview on the Weekend

There is nothing that bugs me more than asking a candidate when they’re available to talk and getting back “This Saturday or Sunday works for me” I understand that you might have a busy schedule, but recruiters are human and like to relax on their weekends too! While unintentional, this tells me that you don’t value my time enough to speak with me during work hours. Likewise, if you ask to speak at 8:00 am or maybe 5:30 pm? Typically not a problem, I’m willing to log on early or stay a little late for you. If you’re asking for anything earlier or later than that, I’m going to push back. Ultimately, if you’re not excited enough about the role to find 20-minutes on your lunch break during the week for a chat, this job might not be the one for you.

Your recruiter when they get an “I’m available to chat at 10pm on Friday” email

2. Apply For 10+ Jobs in 10 Different Departments

This sounds innocent, but applying to anything over 5+ jobs at once all within different departments sends a negative impression. I’ve seen candidates apply for 10+ roles at once that had absolutely nothing in common with one another. If you’re applying for a Software Engineer role and also a Sales Director role, your recruiter is going to get confused and assume that you are applying for the sake of applying instead of because you have a genuine interest. My advice is to keep it to 3…

--

--

Daphne Blake

Daphne is currently a recruiter in the tech industry writing about life in talent acquisition and tips for candidates and managers alike.